Tag Archives: non fiction

Friday’s NON-FICTION Free and Bargain Books

They Met At Shiloh: a Civil War Novel (Shiloh Series Book 1) (FREE!)

They Met At Shiloh: a Civil War Novel (Shiloh Series Book 1)Shiloh. In Hebrew it means ‘place of peace’. An apt name for a tiny Methodist chapel close to the banks of the Tennessee river. It has borne witness to christenings, weddings, and funerals. Its parishioners are thankful for their peace.

Peace, that is, until Grant’s Union army arrives to take up every available space in and around the church and on all of the community’s farm land.

Within his camps are soldiers that are simple, scared, green, boastful, veteran, and foolish, all hoping that they do not shirk their sworn oaths. They are full of hope that soon they will sally forth and give battle to their enemy, thirty four miles away.

Or so they think.

Battle is less than a few miles away as another army of green and untried soldiers is marching, stealing up upon the Union army’s encampment with the Tennessee river at its back and no hope of immediate reinforcement. These Confederates are full of hope too, hope that they will not shrink from their oaths when the fire is the most intense and their friends are falling left and right.

Battles are planned by the generals, but they are fought by the soldiers; the simple, the scared, the green, the boastful, the veteran, and the foolish.

They Met at Shiloh is a civil war historical novel. In the tradition of Michael Shaara’s The Killer Angels and All Quiet on the Western Front, you’ll smell the powder and suffer the anguish of loss and understand why soldiers above all else prefer peace to war.

Grab the first and penultimate start to a journey through the American Civil War in the western theater and experience the war from the ranks as a soldier.

CLICK HERE to Get This Book for FREE Today! (FREE for a Limited Time!)

Harem: the European megaseller: new and revised edition (Classical Historical Fiction Book 2) (SAVE 88%)

Harem: the European megaseller: new and revised edition (Classical Historical Fiction Book 2)He could have had any woman in the empire. He wanted only one.

“A page-turner . . . This peek behind the walls of the seraglio will seduce lovers of large-scale historical fiction.” – Booklist

He had everything a man might dream of; wealth, power and the choice of hundreds of the most beautiful women in his Empire. Why then did he forsake his harem for the love of just one woman, and marry her in defiance of the centuries-old code of the Osmanlis?

This is the astonishing story of Suleiman, the one they called the Magnificent, and the woman he loved.

Suleiman controlled an empire of thirty million people, encompassing twenty different languages. As a man, he was an enigma; he conquered all who stood against him with one of the world’s first full time professional armies – yet he liked to write poetry; he ravaged half of Europe but he rebuilt Istanbul in marble; he had teams of torturers and assassins ready to unleash at a whim – yet history remembers him as a great lawmaker.

Despite its luxury, his harem was virtually a prison. For one of his concubines, the only way to a better life was to somehow find her way into his bed and bear him a son. But the young Sultan was often away at war and when he did return he gave all his attention to Gulbehar, his favorite. Until one day, when a young Russian girl takes her fate into her own hands. She was clever and she was ruthless. And she had a plan.

Into this world are drawn two unforgettable characters; a beautiful young Italian noblewoman, captured by corsairs and brought to the Harem as a concubine; and the eunuch who loved her once, long ago, in Venice.

From medieval Venice to the slave markets of Algiers, from the mountains of Persia to the forbidden seraglio of the Ottoman’s greatest sultan, this is a tale of passion and intrigue in a world where nothing is really as it seems.

“ …a spectacular, haunting tale of malice, obsession, and zeal set in the magnificent Harem of Sultan Süleyman the Magnificent …”History and Women

CLICK HERE to Get This Book for Your Kindle Today! (88% Off for a Limited Time!)