Category Archives: Mystery/Thrillers

Thursday’s MYSTERY/THRILLERS Free and Bargain Books

Maids of Misfortune (A Victorian San Francisco Mystery Book 1) (FREE!)

Maids of Misfortune (A Victorian San Francisco Mystery Book 1)It’s the summer of 1879, and Annie Fuller, a young San Francisco widow, is in trouble. Annie’s husband squandered her fortune before committing suicide five years earlier, and one of his creditors is now threatening to take the boardinghouse she owns to pay off a debt.

Annie Fuller also has a secret. She supplements her income by giving domestic and business advice as Madam Sibyl, one of San Francisco’s most exclusive clairvoyants, and one of Madam Sibyl’s clients, Matthew Voss, has died. The police believe his death was suicide brought upon by bankruptcy, but Annie believes Voss has been murdered and that his assets have been stolen.

Nate Dawson has a problem. As the Voss family lawyer, he would love to believe that Matthew Voss didn’t leave his grieving family destitute. But that would mean working with Annie Fuller, a woman who alternatively attracts and infuriates him as she shatters every notion he ever had of proper ladylike behavior.

Sparks fly as Anne and Nate pursue the truth about the murder of Matthew Voss in this light-hearted, cozy historical mystery set in the foggy gas-lit world of Victorian San Francisco.

Maids of Misfortune is the first book in M. Louisa Locke’s historical mystery series, see also, Uneasy Spirits, and Bloody Lessons, Deadly Proof, and Pilfered Promises, as well as the novella, Violet Vanquishes a Villain, and the short stories based on the characters from the novels, which can be found collected in Victorian San Francisco Stories.

CLICK HERE to Get This Book for FREE Today! (FREE for a Limited Time!)

Sword of State: The Tempering (SAVE 86%)

Sword of State: The TemperingThe year is 1652.

General George Monck has been through an awful lot since he sat as a prisoner in the Tower of London eight years before.

He had led his men admirably through campaigns in Ireland and Scotland, but still storm clouds surround his future.

Six months ago Monck’s life had been put in peril as he underwent the agonies of the spotted-fever.

He had been away from his beloved Anne for many months and had come to London to find whether Ratsford – who had abandoned Anne some four years earlier after robbing her of her life’s savings – was alive and still proving to be an obstacle to their proposed marriage or dead.

Now rumours were surfacing that the increasing difficulties with the Dutch were most likely to lead to war, thus creating a further obstacle to Monck’s matrimonial intentions.

But the soldier in Monck would never stand down from the call of duty.

His life with Anne will have to wait as Parliament and the Army Council require the general’s artillery expertise as naval conflict with the Dutch becomes inevitable.

Will the great general find his sea legs and overcome his greatest challenge yet?

In The Tempering, the second book in the Sword of the State trilogy, award-winning author Richard Woodman recreates the true story of George Monck, a giant of the 17th Century. Monck is all but forgotten today, yet his legacy is nothing less than the British monarchy and a famous regiment – the Coldstream Guards.

Captain Richard Martin Woodman LVO is an English novelist and naval historian who retired in 1997 from a 37 year nautical career, mainly working for Trinity House, to write full-time. His main work is 14 volumes about the career of Nathaniel Drinkwater, and shorter series about James Dunbar and William Kite, but he also written a range of factual books about 18th century and WW2 history.

Endeavour Press is the UK’s leading independent digital publisher. For more information on our titles please sign up to our newsletter at Each week you will receive updates on free and discounted ebooks. Follow us on Twitter: @EndeavourPress and on Facebook via We are always interested in hearing from our readers. Endeavour Press believes that the future is now.

CLICK HERE to Get This Book for Your Kindle Today! (86% Off for a Limited Time!)

An Innocent Client (Joe Dillard Series Book 1) (SAVE 69%)

An Innocent Client (Joe Dillard Series Book 1)An Innocent Client was a top 100 book in the Kindle Store for all of 2016. The novel has been translated into 10 languages. Joe Dillard is an Amazon two million copy bestselling series. 
A preacher is found brutally murdered in a Tennessee motel room.

A beautiful, mysterious young girl is accused.

In this bestselling debut, criminal defense lawyer Joe Dillard has become jaded over the years as he’s tried to balance his career against his conscience. Savvy but cynical, Dillard wants to quit doing criminal defense, but he can’t resist the chance to represent someone who might actually be innocent. His drug-addicted sister has just been released from prison and his mother is succumbing to Alzheimer’s, but Dillard’s commitment to the case never wavers despite the personal troubles and professional demands that threaten to destroy him.

“Pratt’s richly developed characters are vivid and believable, especially the strong Southern women who fight their male-dominated culture from behind a facade of vulnerability in this brilliantly executed debut.” — Publisher’s Weekly

“It’s Scott Turow and Grisham… The opening chapter is maybe the most compelling I’ve read in a decade.” – Ken Bruen

Smart and sophisticated, with a plot twist that will leave you shaking your head in wonder, “An Innocent Client” — the first in the acclaimed Joe Dillard series — will also leave you begging for more.

CLICK HERE to Get This Book for Your Kindle Today! (69% Off for a Limited Time!)